Peasant Dresses

When I started this blog I had good intentions to post once a week. Then the holidays happened. Then life took over. My good intentions of getting more sewing done didn’t happen. So I’m reaching back to last spring when I made peasant style dresses for Alaina and Rhiannon. The pattern is Kwik Sew 3674. If you are making clothes for the warmer days ahead this is a great dress that can be casual or dressy.

Env-3674.indd

I used the peasant style pattern but instead of using the ruffle I did the contrasting piece on the skirt as shown on the sundress. I also lengthened the skirt.

DSC_0833

For Alaina’s dress I made the sleeves slightly wider. I had used this pattern once before and the sleeves ended up being very tight. I’m not sure if I should go up a size or not. It fits nice elsewhere.

DSC_0829

The fabric was on the thinner side and because I don’t like having my daughters wear sheer clothing I built a slip into the skirt using a lightweight white cotton fabric.

You could alter this skirt in many ways. Use the ruffle instead of the contrasting fabric or maybe do several rows of ruffles. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

